Letter From The Director

Dear Tamale Hut Friends:

I know it’s been a while since you’ve heard from me, so I thought I would check in and update you on some recent Tamale Hut Cafe Presents developments.

We will be kicking off our fifth year of programming with a reading by poet/performance artist Jason Brock this Saturday, January 29th, from 7-9 p.m. He’s bringing some of his poet friends for the open mic, and I hope some of you will come out and share your material as well.

More importantly, I would like to announce that I have recruited one of my most faithful open mic regulars, Bernie Cox, to serve as assistant artistic director of Tamale Hut Cafe Presents. I am thrilled to have Bernie, who is an MFA candidate at Roosevelt University, join me in my quest to ensure that Tamale Hut remains, as he so aptly puts it, “the nexus of art gatherings in the near-west suburbs.” Bernie comes to Chicago by way of Philadelphia, PA, where he was also extremely active in the arts and music scene. Already he has proven himself to be a tireless collaborator, helping identify prospective featured readers and creating a blog and a THC Twitter account so we have more and better ways to communicate with all of you about our events.

This brings me to my next, and final point. I wanted to provide you with the URL to our blog: https://thcreadingseries.wordpress.com/ and also urge those of you with Twitter accounts to follow us @thcafereadings. In the coming months, we will be using both of these to share information, and I hope you’ll interact with us through them and encourage like-minded friends to do the same.

Thanks so much for your interest and support! I’m looking forward to bringing you another year of fantastic stories, and taking the little reading series that could to the next level!

Cheers,

Jenny Seay
Artistic Director, Tamale Hut Cafe Presents

